Home » About us

About us

The Children Act 2004 places a duty on every local authority to establish a Local Safeguarding Children Board (LSCB). The core objectives of the East Sussex LSCB are:

  • To coordinate the work done by members of the LSCB to safeguard and promote the welfare of children in East Sussex, and
  • To ensure the work done by members of the LSCB is effective in safeguarding children in East Sussex.

Members of the East Sussex LSCB include the independent chair, Reg Hooke, two lay members and senior representatives from the following statutory and voluntary sector agencies:

  • East Sussex County Council
  • Sussex Police
  • East Sussex Healthcare NHS Trust
  • Clinical Commissioning Groups
  • Sussex Partnership NHS Foundation Trust
  • Surrey and Sussex Area Team NHS Sussex
  • Public Health
  • South East Coast Ambulance Service
  • Youth Offending Service
  • National Probation Service
  • Kent Surrey Sussex Community Rehabilitation Company
  • East Sussex Fire and Rescue Service
  • Cafcass (Children and Family Court Advisory and Support Service)
  • Head teachers representing East Sussex Primary, secondary, special and independent schools
  • Eastbourne Borough Council
  • Lewes District Council
  • Hastings Borough Council
  • Rother District Council
  • Wealden District Council
  • Representatives from the voluntary sector